So, my family keeps chickens. We have kept chickens for the last 9 years. They are funny little things. One thing I learned early on: if you hold a chicken in front of you and move it around in tiny little circles, its head will stay still while the rest of its body moves. It’s hilarious. Another thing I’ve learned about chickens: some of them are just plain weird. We had a rooster whose crow sounded absolutely ridiculous, like it was trying to sing while nursing a cold. Another rooster started picking up turkey sounds after a while because we keep the chickens and the turkeys together. Chickens are funny, soft, and if you raise them to like humans, friendly. However, that doesn’t mean accidents never happen.

My mom was taking care of the chickens yesterday, and a chicken became curious about her eye, maybe thought there was a bug in it or something, and pecked it. Now, I didn’t find out about any of this until that evening. Mom simply came into the house, told me she was going somewhere and would be back later, and drove off… She’s done this many times before, when going shopping or paying bills, running errands, things like that, and she wasn’t acting differently in any way, so I had no idea anything was wrong. It wasn’t until she came home that evening when I asked her if something was wrong with her eye (she was holding it closed with her hand) that she said “yeah, a chicken pecked it.” I couldn’t help but stare at her for a moment. That was definitely unexpected.

Her eye is doing better, and she’s going to go see an optometrist tomorrow… and based on things she’s said, I think it’s mainly a scratch, and it’s not like she’s automatically gonna be blind in one eye or something (I hope… so long as it’s treated correctly…). But this is definitely the strangest thing that’s happened to me this week.

Take care, y’all! Don’t get pecked by a chicken!

EDG

