So, about a month ago my oldest sister and brother-in-law moved in with us with their 5-going-on-6 kids, while they’re looking for a house to live in. Now, we already had my other sister and her three kids living with us. So at this point in time, we have 6 adults (including myself) in the house, and 8 kids under the age of 11. Granted, one of them is a small baby, so it’s not like he’s causing havoc, but the rest of them… It’s been interesting.

For instance, there are two sets of parents to these 8 children in the house, and each has slightly different rules. R’s kids are very healthy eaters. They like their food, and they aren’t usually picky about what it is, so R actually has to prevent them from eating too much. S’s kids, on the other hand, are not only picky eaters, but they also vary widely from day to day in how much they eat. Some days my niece will eat almost everything we give her; other days, she seems to barely eat anything at all, and when we ask her what she wants to eat she requests junk food. Add these opposing food tendencies to the fact that both of my sisters will often cook specifically for their own kids. This means that a lot of times, one of R’s kids will see S’s kids eating something, and automatically respond with “I want some too!” when they already had lunch AND a snack, and aren’t supposed to eat until dinnertime.

Spring has finally hit my area, so the kids and I have been riding bicycles quite a bit within the last week. Usually we stay in the driveway (our driveway is big enough to ride in comfortably), but occasionally we like to go and ride on the road. Depending on who they go with, the kids have different rules. When he’s with his father, my nephew C is allowed to ride all the way to the corner. However, when he’s with me, he’s only allowed to ride up to a certain point before he has to turn around. We developed this rule because I’m not quite as comfortable watching 4 or 5 kids at once as C’s father is, so this gave me specific parameters to pay attention to instead of a generalized area. C, on the other hand, is 5 and doesn’t understand why there are different rules with different people, so the first day we went riding on the road, we had to get after him a few times for riding too far.

Of course, then there’s also the fact that S’s kids weren’t used to having so many other kids around to play with/talk to/get-upset-with-for-touching-their-stuff. Where they lived before, there was literally no one around for them to play with, and although up here there are kids at church, there still wasn’t anyone at home. So when the Invasion Of The 5 Extra Children happened, both A and W had a bit of an adjustment period. W had it the worst– he’s almost three, and the only person he ever had to share with was an older sister. He was literally freaking out about something once every ten or fifteen minutes or so when R and B and their kids arrived, because either one of the other kids was messing with “his” stuff or they were bugging him trying to get him to play or they were invading “his” room, etc… little stuff like that. It’s really only in the last week and a half or so that he’s finally started to calm down and settle into having them around. R has a little girl who’s two and a half, so they’ve been learning to play together too. It’s sooo cute when W and N get together and start talking about stuff in toddler-ese.

Basically, the last month or so has been hectic, fun, frustrating, funny…lots of stuff… I’m glad I get to see all my nieces and nephews regularly, though. I hadn’t seen any of R’s kids for the last year and a half or so, and seeing how much they’ve all grown and changed (or not changed, as the case is sometimes) is awesome.

The craziest part about all of this is actually the fact that M, my oldest nephew, is in 5th grade. He’s literally about a year older than I was when we moved here. I still remember being 8 years old and getting to hold him as a newborn, and I remember when he was 3 months old. Time flies when your kids (or your sister’s kids) are growing, am I right?

That’s all I’ve got for right now. Hope you liked hearing a bit about my family! 🙂 Have a great day! God bless!

EDG

