This post includes some of my favorite amusing childhood memories.

At my old church, before they remodeled it, my family used to be on lockup duty. We would have to go through the whole church and check the doors, especially the ones leading to the outside. We moved when I was nine, and started officially going to a different church when I was eleven, so I haven’t been there for quite a while, but I still remember the whole layout. However, everything I’m describing in here may or may not have changed since I last visited.

There are two different buildings– one building was the main building and housed the offices, sanctuary, and little kids’ classrooms. Along with this, there was a walkway outside that led from the main lobby to the other side of the building (so people weren’t having to go through all these different rooms and hallways to get to it. There were several classrooms between the lobby and that particular part of the building). The other building was basically a kids’ waiting area/playroom and party room. (It was called the TTZ, and it had an AWESOME indoor playground. Seriously, I really miss that place sometimes.)

Now, for whatever reason, it seems like every single room which was a kids’ classroom (except for the baby and toddler nurseries) had at least one door or set of double doors leading outside. Some of these doors led to a place called the “patio” which was basically a fenced-in concrete playing area for the little kids that doubled as the walkway between several of the rooms in the main building and the TTZ.

A friend of mine tells me that he counted 27 outside doors. That’s twenty-seven outside doors. TWENTY-SEVEN. DOORS. WHICH. ALL. LEAD. OUTSIDE. No wonder lockup always took forever. I mean, that’s not even counting the ones that are inside which go between different rooms. Seriously, several of the rooms were interconnected, like the two baby nursery rooms (one was for playtime and another was for nap time) and this one room that tripled as a meeting/break room, dining room, and…kitchen? which had doors on either side that led to the office hallway and the sanctuary.

One time, my brother and my father were looking for one another after church was over. However, since they were both looking for each other at the same time and walking in the same direction, they ended up going in circles. Todd would come out one door and look around, and not find Dad. So, he’d turn, go down the sidewalk, and go into a different door while my father would come out the very door Todd just came through and do the same thing that Todd did. They eventually found each other, but they circled the same general area for a while until then. My mom and other siblings (I wasn’t born yet) were waiting in the car in front of the church, so they got to watch the whole thing.

This morning, while I was thinking about the crazy amount of doors this church has, I remembered another thing: because we were all part of the church service team (whether we were helping with the kids or running the sound booth), we nearly always used the church office side door entrance, and rarely did we actually use the front door of the church. I grew up using the side door all the time, so I just automatically considered it the front door. It wasn’t until I was nine or ten years old that I realized that what I thought was the front door was actually a side door, and what I thought was a fancy side door was actually the front door. I told Mom about that this morning and she busted out laughing. *sigh* kids.

Well, now you know a little bit about my childhood– I spent A LOT of time at the church with my mom, so I’d say it was literally a second home for the first ten years of my life. I hope you enjoyed this post! have a great day!

EDG

